Only Me Knows Me

only me knows me

Only Me Knows Me illustration by chidiscosaffair

I am not a poet
therefore
my poem will
not rhyme

The story that my
heart writes
no one can read
The song that my
heart sings
no one can hear
The way that my
heart feels
no one can know
The thing that my
heart wants
no one can give

If you tell me that
you feel
what I feel
I nod because
I know you lie
If you tell me that
you know
what I know
I laugh because
I know you Lie

I am mad at you because
you say you know
what my heart writes
you say you know
what my heart sings
you say you know
what my heart feels
you say you know
what my heart wants

I cry
I cry because you lie
You lie
you lie that you will
act the way I do
if you were me.
I shout
I tell you that
you are not
because only me
can act like me
because only me
can cry like me
because only me
can frown like me
because only me
can laugh like me
because only me
can feel like me

You can wear my shoes
but you will not wear me
and you can not feel like me
because
only me knows what my heart sings
only me knows what my heart writes
only me knows what my heart feels
only me knows what my heart wants
because only me
only me knows me.

10 thoughts on “Only Me Knows Me

  1. Only you will know, and they will never understand. Soon you will realize you are just wasting your time on making them. They know they know it all and they say they have seen it all and based on that they know you. The truth is they dont know and they havent seen anything. They only say because they live in their bubble and they are kings/queens in their bubble.

  2. Wow that was amazing! What an evocative cry from the heart. Loved it! No idea why you would think you are not a poet…

  3. You are definately a poet to me 🙂 I could never write something like that!

  4. Pingback: Death | An Affair With Books

Assure that you are listening by leaving a comment.

