Review of The Mine by John Heldt

     Book Blurb from Author

In 2000, Joel Smith is a cocky, adventurous young man who sees the world as his playground. But when the college senior, days from graduation, enters an abandoned Montana mine, he discovers the price of reckless curiosity. He emerges in May 1941 with a cell phone he can’t use, money he can’t spend, and little but his wits to guide his way. Stuck in the age of Whirlaway, swing dancing, and a peacetime draft, Joel begins a new life as the nation drifts toward war. With the help of his 21-year-old trailblazing grandmother and her friends, he finds his place in a world he knew only from movies and books. But when an opportunity comes to return to the present, Joel must decide whether to leave his new love in the past or choose a course that will alter their lives forever. THE MINE follows a humbled man through a critical time in history as he adjusts to new surroundings and wrestles with the knowledge of things to come.

review of books on an affair with books

 

I can say I normally ignore books that have all this weird scientific theories when I start reading them, but The Mine by John Heldt is not a one to ignore when you start reading.  Actually this is the book that I can say took me the longest time to read, mostly because of the fact that I read it only on my computer,  and I had school work. When I finally finished this book, I asked myself why I haven’t read it long before now. I love the way the author puts the characters especially Joel Smith in a fictional environment and still managed to make it look realistic. I love the way he expresses the feeling of his main character Joel Smith realistically.

“Part of him still clung to that this was all a dream.”

“On December 8, I entered the same mine and returned to my time. I wanted to take you I agonized for days. I never wanted to leave you. But I knew I did not belong in your world, just as I knew you did not belong in mine.”

He didn’t make it like any Disney fairy tale, where you stay in a strange place because the one you think you love is there. I also love John Heldt’s use of humor in a complicated situation.

Because I’m stuck in 1941, you dope, and hotels don’t take baseball cards as payment.

The way he assigned roles to his characters was also good. I love Adam the humorous and impatient character, who only knew that Joel was in the mine,  taking long and wasting his precious time, not knowing that his friend was fifty-nine years away in the past.

I was gone just thirty minutes?

That’s what I said. Do you want a prize or something?

What fault have I found with this book, oh wait I’ve got one, I found some grammatical errors. I am rating this book 4 1/2 out 5. If I were Joel, I would freak out in his situation.

 Links:  Amazon|Goodreads

3 thoughts on “Review of The Mine by John Heldt

  1. Hi to all, how is the whole thing, I think every one is getting more from
    this site, and your views are pleasant in support of
    new people.

Assure that you are listening by leaving a comment.

